top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemelsaat28

Bored Blog 18: Show Yourself

9/4/2021


Okay, this is going to be short.

Yesterday I did something I was nervous about doing. Maybe it's because I'm becoming too influenced by Sam and Colby. I've been trying to post more on instagram. Mostly stories, and not so much of posting photos. It's nice that in stories you can see who is actually looking at your stuff rather than seeing how many likes ya get.


But also, I'm trying to be less of a scaredy cat about my own work. So! I made a post of the story/poem book I've been working on since last year. It's the one on wattpad, To be a Straw Hat.


I was honest in my post saying need to be brave and show my work. I then added the summary of the story. The photo itself got 6 or so likes? But when I went to add another chapter or something later, two things happened. 1) I got 54 reads altogether! Before it said 23 or something. 2) Someone added my book to their Reading List!!! A SUGGESTED reading list. It was sooooo cool. It felt like some kind of accomplishment. I was also surprised that one of my friends read it as well! She liked it!


So everyone, this is why you should show your stuff. Yes, most people won't care. Although some people might surprise you.


Another thing, I met up with my friend yesterday. She moved back to the city from Texas. I was so happy to see her. She's one of my few friends who thinks bigger than having a 9-5 job. She's also trying to have more of a presence on social media. Which is great because we can collaborate! It will also be so much more fun doing things together than alone.


We'll have to try to work around her schedule though, but I'm excited. Thank you God for listening to me. I really needed a friend with a similar view of life. And I'm talking about going after your dreams kind of thinking (big dreams). Most of my friends or other people I know aren't really stretching themselves to bigger possibilities. There's a whole world out there!!


Is anyone else seeing this? There's a pretty big sky out there. There's a vast sea out there. There is a whole forest of who knows what out there. Let's go explore!


Yes, let's get ahead of ourselves. I'm feeling great and energized. Let's use this energy!

I'll go back to editing the tiny home footage after this.


You too. Go use your pent up energy to do something awesome!


Awwww maaaan. I was also watching this youtube lady for how to make Thumbnails for YT videos. I ended up watching this one. One tip was to post reels on instagram. I had a video with my friend who moved back to the city. I made a quick reel, added a 2000 song to it, tagged my friend and posted it. I was checking something on instagram a few hours later and laughed...I got 50 likes...what??? I usually get 12-20 likes on stuff. Yes, all the social media stuff I'm talking about sounds dumb, but I promise I'm just trying to be more brave.


They say everyone has a light inside them. You have a light inside you too! It's also said it's a selfish thing to dim your own light. You do that and you're keeping people from experiencing what you can give to the world. Bro, I'm still not sure what I can give to the world, but the first step I can take is to stop hiding and show my work.


Here are some filters I was playing around with. I've been feeling so happy that I was confident enough to put it in my stories on instagram.











Mwahahahahaha, okay.


I'm sorry I've never said this before, but if you'd like to reach out with your thoughts about life or the struggle of pumping yourself up/finding the inspiration to move forward, you can contact me at LuckyDaruma7@gmail.com. I'll definitely email you back.


Have a good one.


Best,

Emel

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page