top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemelsaat28

Bored Blog 34: Are You Grounded?


4/15/2022



How's it going?


I know I don't post once a week. Instead I post when something happens, when I have a story to share with you. Quality over quantity right here. If you want to read the earlier blogs you are welcome to do so.


So, today's story/stories is about being more grounded.


Most people would say, "you should be yourself," but yourself could be way off. Say, someone who believes "Me before thee 24/7." Would you want to tell that person, "Just be yourself?" No, they could use some growing up. When you tell someone to be "grounded," you're telling them to have a healthy balance of listening to people while also not being blindly swayed. You take responsibility, you have a sense of who you are, what your weaknesses are and how to deal with them or use your weakness to your advantage. I picture someone planted firmly on earthy soil with a whole bunch of balancing scales around them. Each scale representing a different aspect of their life.


Yes, it's tough to keep everything balanced in your life, but things wouldn't be interesting if it was easy.


A few things have happened since we last talked. I have taken some driving lessons for the first time in my life. I purposely chose the toughest instructor because it's those kinds of teachers that teach you the most. So, my teacher is very strong on having good hand-over-hand form. If it's not good you're more likely to get yourself into an accident.




During one of my lessons my hand-over-hand was off. He kept pointing to exactly where my hands are supposed to be while counting how many times I need to turn the wheel and then turn the wheel back to it's upright position. Each time I messed up he raised his voice a little more. I kept telling myself, "It's all good. I'm learning. He's stating what I need to work on." But as the intensity of his voice continued, my tears wanted to come out.


In the end I started crying and we had to pull over because I was in no state to drive. Now, I've been in situations like this with teachers in the past. It made no sense to me why something like this would bother me to the brink of tears. I've failed a lot in life (and will continue to do so). This type of situation should not have bothered me. I ended up having the same talk that I've had with previous teachers. He said, "I'm doing this because this is important," "If I was soft on students they won't learn anything," and on and on. As lame as it might sound, I didn't want to hear this whole spiel again. I'm past that. I told him it wasn't him, I was annoyed with myself for not being able to get the hand-over-hand right.


On my way home I was crying. It didn't make sense why I was crying. Maybe it was memories from the past that triggered these tears. But I don't care about the past anymore. I was doing well (wasn't fazed about his stern tone) for the first half of the lesson. What happened?

It's stupid, but it took a while for me to come up with, "I should have asked him for a break." If I did that I don't think I would have cried.


Next,

YouTube suggested to me this channel called, Julien Himself. He is another successful guy teaching about the things he changed in his life to get where he is now. I got into his channel because he talks a lot about how he - a really shy guy - got out of his shell. He talks more about how to be yourself with people. And when you're yourself you become more attractive. Sure, in a romantic way, but also attractive to possible business partners, people you meet at a party or people in general.


I really like this video of his.



Julian is the guy on the right. Yeah, he dresses like a rich hobo, but you really get sucked into what he says. And from what I've learned from personal experience and from what I've heard from Julian and a few other people, if someone is grounded and comfortable in their own skin, then you're going to pay more attention to their character and not so much to what they're wearing.


I don't want to spend too much time talking about the video. You should definitely check it out yourself.


I used a few tips from Julian, such as opening up more to people (not in the sense you tell your whole life story, but just holding back a little less). There are times I hold back from asking someone questions thinking maybe they wouldn't want to tell a stranger about their personal life, or I would compliment someone in my head and think it would be weird for me to say it out loud (close friends would compliment each other or an extrovert would do that to random people).


I was getting my hair cut yesterday by a friend of a friend whom I didn't know that well. I decided to ask questions I had for her and didn't hold back on saying compliments. We ended up having some interesting conversations and having some things in common. I was talking so much I started stumbling on my words because my mouth was dry. Once she was done cutting my hair she invited me to get coffee sometime. Yay! I made a new friend!


And here's what my hair looked like after she was done!



One last thing,

my bro got this awesome job to be an editor for an online magazine for Bitcoin. He's been really focused on Bitcoin and crypto currency and he's getting a lot out of his hard work. I'm really happy for him! Though at the same time it makes me question what I'm doing. I haven't been focusing on film too much lately. I've been keeping up with Bored Blog, writing To be a Straw Hat, and posting stuff on Rizzle (like TikTok and Youtube but different). Oh, I will also be filming a wedding tomorrow for a friend. It's going to be fun! But back on topic, I wish I was as focused as my bro is on one thing. In the back of my head I'm hoping one of the projects I'm working on will shoot me strait up into the stars. I will then be financially independent and continue to work on the projects I want to work on. \(≧▽≦)/


But I need to remind myself again that my life is mine. I can't compare it to yours, my bro's, my friends' or anyone else's life. I shouldn't compare, but I don't think it hurts to look at other people's lives and use them as a way to learn from them and to check yourself of where you want to go in life. "Am I happy with what I'm doing now?" "Should I look back at my goals?" "Maybe I should fix my goals." "My friend was able to use this method, maybe that could help me with what I'm trying to do." "Wow, I got off track of where I'm trying to go." "I didn't realize it but I was actually having fun." "Maybe I am going the right way."


Maybe we are going the right way and we just don't know it yet.

Keep working hard! Talk to you next time.


Best,

Emel


22 views0 comments
bottom of page