top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemelsaat28

Bored Blog 27: How is The Start of Your Year Going?


1/1/2022


Happy New Year!!

I hope you already started working on your goals. It's very easy to think, "The year just started...I can start working out tomorrow." Nope. We do it now. Whatever it is you're working on this year (this month, this week or today), make it fun and have it at arms reach. Have your gym clothes out and your dumbbells next to your bed (though watch out for your toes in the morning). Then get the party started and work out.


For the last three days of 2021 I was babysitting my friends' cat.





It was nice to pretend I had my own apartment for a while. Yesterday night, my siblings came over (to see the cat) and to eat some sushi. By the time they had to leave (9pm) they were getting their coats on and I said the lame, "See you next year!" Which was really tomorrow.

My sis then said as a matter of factly, "Nothing is going to change next year." I said, "No! It has to change!!!" She smiled and said, "It's going to be the same." They then left me alone with Melon (the cat).


I sat there thinking, "This year is going to be different. The tiny home community will be built this year. It has to. We're going to have money for the land and we're going to build it." It's been two years of waiting. Two years of thinking what I can do to help. My dad tells me that God will give it to us when the time is right. I understand that, while I also understand that it could be a sign that we're not ready (mostly me). My marketing skills need more work. My confidence also needs work.


Which is why I did the next thing on my scaredy-cat list.


To swim in cold water!


This morning I woke up early, got my things packed, said goodbye to Melon (her owners came back today),

went back home to change and get my dad to come with me to Coney Island. The friend I made the scaredy-cat list with (not sure if she'd want me saying her name), got a cold and couldn't come with me. My other friends were busy/not interested, so I asked my dad. He said yes!


The polar bear plunge started at 10am and ended at 2pm. I wanted to get there at 1pm. I got home, got my things ready by 12pm. I checked on my dad and he was playing loud music in the shower. He couldn't hear me knocking on the bathroom door saying, "We need to go!"


We don't leave until 12:25pm. So, we got there at 1:45pm. I told my dad, "We can go somewhere else along the beach if we're late." On our walk over there I started feeling a little disappointed. People in bathrobes and towels were packing their stuff into their cars or were heading to the train. They already took a swim in the icy NYC beach water (yes I still wanted to go for it).







My dad said we should still check out where they plunged into the water. So we did.




People were having a party! I then checked to see if people were still in the water and...




People were being told to get out. These were the last two crazy swimmers in the water.

My dad and I liked the energy so we hung out for a bit. Then! All of a sudden-




-people were getting into the water! My dad said, "Emel, go!" I looked around and none of the staff who were in charge of the event said anything...so I took off my jacket. I was so scared of going in.




It took me a while to get in because I was thinking of how cold it was going to be. So cold that my body would get numb and then it would start to burn my skin off. But I was thankful to the kind lady who ran in with me...and then the lower half of my body turned numb and I felt like I was on fire. But I did it! Once I was out of the water I felt so much warmer.


Did it make me feel alive? For a split second yes, when I was in the water. Then once I was out I was glad it was over. Maybe next year I'll try to stay in longer. I'm glad I did it. I did what I said I would do.


As long as I'm trying to push myself out of my comfort zone I'm making my way towards having confidence in myself! People usually follow confidence. So, as I slowly build it up I'm sure the tiny home community will become more than just a dream.


This year is definitely going to be different. Are you ready for 2022?? Good!


Best,

Emel ^-^


P.S.

Would you do the polar bear plunge? How long do you think you'd last in the water? What are your thoughts?


25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page