top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemelsaat28

Bored Blog 28: How Long Could You Go Without Social Media?

Updated: Mar 17, 2022

1/10/2022


I hope all is well with you.


You know, the first day of January was exciting for me. I dived into cold NYC sea water with a stranger yelling at me, " Dive, dive, dive!" Now, it's boring. It's great and lame that you can't experience the same emotions every day.


It's been boring for because I have been at home stuck and stuck in my head. It should be an awesome time for a day dreamer like me, but it hasn't been. Mostly because of social media. If you're building your own business you'll understand what I'm talking about.




With the amount of posts going up within a minute, you can easily drown. Or with the annoying algorithms they added, they can make it where you can't be found. They could possibly be doing this so you can pay them to advertise for you. I wouldn't be surprised if that's why my posts don't receive a lot of engagement.


If only I could stop using social media. If only people could easily find my videos and writing without me trying to yell above the crowed online.


Just moments ago I was thinking of posting on instagram,"Hey guys, to tell you the truth things aren't going well. I hate social media. It's not getting me anywhere...you're probably going to scroll right past this. You might not hear from me (or notice my absence) for a week. Maybe even a month. But I'll be a little active on Tiny Homes NYC. If you have to contact me, text or call me (not that many of you have my number). Have a good one."


So far, I have yet to post that because I know no one's going to bother reading it. And I wouldn't want their pity mostly because I wouldn't know if it was real.


Maybe I'll end up posting, " Guys, I'm taking a break from social media for a while so that I can spend more time on my projects. See you in a week or four." This post would make me sound more composed AND make me spend more time on my work.


Last year around February I stopped using social media. I couldn't take the amount of time I put into it for such little rewards. So, for four or five months I was off of it (I ended spending that time on anime and YouTube videos. Not sure if I was too productive). Then one day when I helped finish the documentary Broken (focusing on homeless women in NYC), I had to make an instagram account to advertise it. Then I was making videos for Tiny Homes NYC. That's when I went back into the rabbit hole.





Now that things are slowing down I'm going to take a break. I'll continue to post videos on YouTube of the journey of my dad, bro and I in the tiny home movement (rent keeps going up while wages are stagnant. Tiny homes are the answer!). Our channel is a resume in the making. We want to show we're people who do what we say. Even if it takes some time to get there. Besides YouTube, twitter is less addictive and people are a little more responsive there. For the twitter people reading my blog, thank you!!!


So, Youtube and twitter!


I started going back to the public library and got my second book! I've never heard of it, but we'll see how it goes.



Do you pick a book if you've heard of it (from a friend or someone), based on what Google says is good, or by pulling books off a shelf and deciding to read it based on the authors summary?


Also! how long do you think you could go without social media?



Until next time ^_^

Emel


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page