top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemelsaat28

Bored Blog 3: Spending Too Much Time With Self-Help



7/12/2021

Wow! 3 days in a row. This is looking pretty good.


Yesterday and today I had some time to think about my life as the films I'm editing slowly save or render. There's this new Youtube channel that YouTube suggested to me. It's called Sorelle Amore Finance. The lady seems pretty cool and somehow familiar? After some time I realized that I've seen her Youtube commercial before. It's her in some swimsuit? by some really nice pool with a nice home in the background. I don't remember what she was talking about, but at first glance it felt like she was trying too hard to be quirky. And now I'm following her new channel.


I watched her video of how she became a millionaire over night it made me think what I was doing with my life. Also, she did not become a millionaire over night. The things she did for years lead up to when she started making lots of money.


It's so easy to find people who are successful that it can make you feel pressured to do the same or that you're not there yet.


I was in a slump yesterday and this morning about not being successful yet.





I've tried a lot of things. I've tried making a manga, a novel, some short films, selling T-shirts online, selling stuff on craigslist, posting on instagram to spread the word and get a following, and other things.


In most of the younger millionaires of today they had a great following. In their videos they talk about all these other passive income ideas, but they don't work unless you have followers. Which is the thing I'm bad at. It could be because I'm not showing things people like/need or I need the word of mouth approach. There is also the possibility that I can be all over the place when what people want is consistency. Consistency in the type of stories I write, films that I make or consistency in when I put out things to the world.


I'm a one man team most of the time. It's hard to say when things will be done. Also, I like to learn and try things I've never done before!


It sounds like I have two forces butting heads. One being the freedom to do what I want, and two being the business side where things should be consistent. Buuuuut the millionaire Sorelle, says you should do what makes you happy and not solely because you want to make money. After you have your audience you can ask for money.


I'm going to try again by gaining some kind of following by doing what I love and I'm praying things will click into place for me. Also, this economy may suck, but at least my parents are understanding and let me live with them until the day I can be financially independent. For that I thank them.


Another thing I can change is put my work out there, care less what people think (not that anyone is really looking) and have fun with it.


I also saw this on Linkedin and thought you'd like it as well.




Go ahead and screenshot it, put it as your cellphone wall-paper or whatever.


I also stumbled on this guy's channel Ali Abdaal and saw this video. Which is pretty much the thing that inspired me to do this. I'm not saying this will make me a millionaire, but writing a blog has been something I've kind of wanted to do. I just didn't have the courage before.


After watching more of these types of self millionaire videos I began to think I'm spending so much time listening to these people who have a lot of knowledge, but what am I doing? What is it that I'm doing on a daily bases?


I wake up, check my phone, edit films, watch Youtube channels, watch Netflix, text friends, check messages on other social media stuff (where there aren't any messages), run once in a while aaaand it's already dinner time. And at dinner time I'm watching a show with my siblings in the living room. I'm clearly not putting anything into practice.


It's crazy that there's so much attainable knowledge and you can still spend your days at home doing nothing. I think part of it is that it's overwhelming how much there is and it takes a long time to see results. And on social media there's nothing but results on there. Life is a whole lot of working and waiting for the results. Which is why I try to do things while waiting.


I've started projects. Some get finished, some I get back to later and the rest have been left unfinished.


One thing I'm going to do is spend less time watching videos and more time doing other things. That might be a good start to moving forward. I'll be sooooo bored that I'll have to do the things that aren't fun. I'll have to work on my projects and finish them earlier. I'll have to find other ways to fill my days.


Maybe this way I won't feel any of that social media pressure. I'll be more satisfied with the things I'm doing. I'll grow more as a person and maybe even grow financially. Maybe even find a boyfriend who also believes in God. Who knows?


Okay let's do this. I'm only allowed to watch Netflix once a week. I can only watch Youtube videos for no more than an hour a day. At dinner...can't get around shows at dinner with my family. But on social media I'm going to post what I want. I won't scroll through stuff. Does that sound like a deal?


Good!


Best,

Emel


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page